Are the lichens in Vitamin D3 extracted with alcohol?
Water and alcohol (ethanol – food grade) are used as a processing solvent in Vegan Vitamin D3. The alcohol is removed after the extraction process to meet all respective EU and USA residual solvent regulations.
Any remaining amount of alcohol would be below the level of quantification (e.g., less than 100 micrograms of residual alcohol per gram of vitamin D oil). Since each Vegan Vitamin D3 capsule contains 25 micrograms of oil to deliver 1,000 IU of vitamin D3, the amount of residual alcohol per capsule is negligible.